A bad trip goes downhill

lsdMemories of the days and weeks after my big event, come to me in flashes of black and white like a slideshow with long periods of darkness between each image. I’m finding it difficult to tell my experiences in a narrative form, since the experiences themselves are so disjointed. I guess it might be like trying to write about a bad LSD trip. I never considered trying LSD simply because the following vignettes are what I always imagined a trip to be like.

The most vivid memories revolve around a nurse, named Caitlin, who kidnapped me and took me to Peru, where I was held captive by a pygmy Peruvian with sharpened teeth and George W Bush, a truly frightening duo. My captors made me and my daughter, Marina sleep on the floor with all the other patients piled up like puppies in a mound of dirty blankets. I remember telling Caitlin, “I know I’m not in in America because they have laws that prevent you from treating me like this.”

My most embarrassing memory is offering Marina and a goat to a handsome young RN named Brandon, if he would come home with us and become my live -in caregiver. At the time this offer seemed not only reasonable, but generous. I must’ve been very desperate to offer my beloved daughter as a bribe.

In my damaged imagination it rained the entire time I was in the hospital in Springfield. Floodwaters pressed against the hospital building threatening to wash me away in their raging currents. If there was a sunny day while I was in Springfield, I don’t remember it.

The only bright spot during the month I spent in Springfield was Francie, my favorite nurse. Francie cared for me and my entire family with sincere compassion combined with a positive, buoyant attitude. Her laughter was quite possibly the only laughter I heard that month.

Some memories are not memories at all, but stories I’ve heard from my family, stories I find shocking in their incongruity with my normal personality.

My husband, Jack says that one day in Neuro ICU, I reared back and punched him in the stomach so hard it doubled him over. I’ve never punched anyone in my life! I’m a pacifist! More Temporary insanity to come…in later posts

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in stroke, stroke survivor. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A bad trip goes downhill

  1. Pashna says:

    Wow, what a life changing experience. Hopefully you’ll be able to use these experiences in your writing later on. I’m so glad you’re recovering. Your writing is as good as its ever been. Way to go, Vic!

    Kari

Leave a Reply

