Hey, world! SOS

SoSOSmetime after I assaulted Jack(read A Bad Trip Goes Downhill); I took on the entire Neurology ICU.

Blessed is he who has never heard me sing. Unfortunately none of my neighboring patients nor the nurses who cared for me are blessed in that way anymore. Unable to sleep one night, I decided to belt out most every song on Joni Mitchell’s Court and Spark album. If those poor people weren’t in enough agony already, I probably pushed them right over the edge with “Dancin’ up a river in the dark, looking for a woman to court and spark”. Not only am I a terrible singer, that night I was a terrible singer on very strong pain medication, with a throat all scratched from having tubes pushed down it.

I remember thinking that I was at home one night; then looking around, taking in the interior decorating. The walls around me were painted or papered a rosy-peach color. “I can’t be home I would never paint my walls this color”, I told someone in the room. It may have been an imaginary someone, because later the former youth minister from our church was in the room with me discussing paint colors.” Why do they always paint hospital rooms this color?” I asked Bill. Imaginary Bill replied,” It is to make you feel secure, since this is the color all babies see before they’re born when the sun shines on their mother’s belly.”

I have always been susceptible to what I call ear worms, you know, the songs that get stuck in your head and play over and over; Even in the background when you’re trying to think about other things the song just keeps repeating again and again. After I got over the Joni Mitchell episode, Sting stepped in and took her place.” I’ll send an SOS to the world, I hope that someone gets my I hope that someone gets my message in a bottle.”

I mentioned before that I believe it rained the entire time I was in the hospital in Springfield. The floodwaters broke through one night, of course it was always night in Springfield. I was strapped to a inflatable life raft built to carry one person and a dog. The raft was equipped with a flashing orange light. I kept wondering why they put me on a raft with a spot for a dog since I don’t even own a dog, I don’t even really like dogs. The helicopters were flying around and I knew they could see me because of the flashing light but they never rescued me. I don’t know where I ended up.

Must’ve been right back where I started, just a bit more disappointed.

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in stroke, stroke survivor, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

