Medicinal Kitties

yellow_tiger_catDespite her many shortcomings, Lida has a couple of ardent fans.

Of course my occupational therapist works on her all the time, and Jack whispers sweet nothings to her just in case she needs a little TLC to get working again.

But her biggest devotees are Tex and Kumar, our cats. They are both lap kitties, but ever since I came home from the hospital they are both determined to lie or sit on Lida. It’s as if they want to incubate her. They’ll hop on my lap and circle around until they are able to lie next to or atop Lida. I usually sit with Lida’s elbow propped on a pillow to take some of the weight off my shoulder. The cats are never relaxed or satisfied unless they are touching Lida in some manner. I’ve always heard that animals know when someone is sick. It appears that both Tex and Kumar are aware of Lida’s disability.

I wonder if they’ll stop lying on Lida when she’s fully recovered. Will I be able to say this is this good as Lida will get when the cats no longer make the effort to lie next to her?

Medical studies have shown that pet owners have less stress and pain than non-pet owners. In fact, when I was still in hospital my daughter gave me a stuffed cat that looked just like Kumar in hopes that it would bring me some comfort. Baby Kumar did help me get through some tough times. One of the first things I did when I got home from hospital was cuddle with the real Kumar. That little rascal made everything seem like it would be okay.

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in family, stroke, stroke survivor. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Medicinal Kitties

  1. toni balogna says:

    Hey babe, I am glad that when my brain is paralyzed Josie does not sit on my head,,,I enjoyed this

Leave a Reply

