I’ve still got it

crescent beach view

Travel has always been my number one favorite thing besides my family. I wondered how my first vacation might play out in the early days of my stroke recovery. I even played scenarios of traveling with a wheelchair in my imagination. Luckily I am walking better than I ever expected to.

We just returned home from a week in St. Augustine Florida. We rented a condo on the beach. Jack and I took long walks along the shore every day. I walked without my ankle foot orthotic or my hiking stick on these rambles. I walked barefoot at first. I did some gait analysis on my footprints in the sand and found that the middle toes on lefty dragged in the sand a bit without a shoe. However my footprints with  shoes on showed only a slight scuff of the heel with each step. No toe dragging.

St. Augustine is the oldest city in America. It might be the perfect vacation destination for me, history plus beautiful beaches. My daughter and I wandered all over the old historic area with no problem as long as I didn’t gawk and walk on on the cobbled streets. I am proud of my abilities during this trip. My worries were unfounded. Before the stroke, my kids and I backpacked all over Europe several summers. I don’t think I’m ready to lug a backpack, but my traveling ability barely slowed.

I am also proud to say that I am gardening this spring. Despite the fact that I only need one glove.

I am truly doing better than I ever imagined I would. If Lida would snap out of her stupor, I’d be pretty much the old Vic.

Yippee!

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in family, stroke, stroke survivor. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’ve still got it

  1. toni balogna says:

    yippee!!! indeed….hurrah

  2. I love traveling too and was thrilled when I learned this was possible after a stroke. My first two trips with friends were exhausting and inspiring. I’ve since made several trips on my own to see family and friends.

  3. Denton Gay says:

    Great to read this. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

