It’s okay, It’s therapy!

golemI resisted for a long time, but Jack finally convinced me to upgrade to an iPhone. Unfortunately, I have fallen victim to the horrid obsession I’ve observed with other iPhone users. This obsession was one of the main reasons I avoided the upgrade. It appeared that whenever one of my friends got an iPhone, they sort of fell in love with the thing. In love in a monogamous kind of way. Conversations could not be had without the interruption of the iPhone. The phone didn’t even have to ring to interrupt, it was as if the phone had overwhelmingly powerful magnetism. It’s mere proximity was a distraction.

Before I got the phone I did not realize the infinite variety of activities one can engage in with the iPhone. I thought people were just texting like crazy or visiting their Facebook pages. I have now discovered all the intriguing games to be played on the little device. Some of these games were used by my speech therapist on her iPad during our sessions earlier in the year. Now, the games I consider to be therapeutic have become a minor addiction. I am still committed to not allowing the phone to interrupt my person to person relationships.

I have had a mobile telephone since 1996 and have grown quite weary of being reachable everywhere all the time. Now that my kids are grown I don’t feel the need to make myself available all of the time. But as much as I hate to admit it I love this phone!

Okay, you’ll have to excuse me now. I have to go play Free Flow. It’s therapy

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in stroke, stroke survivor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

