distraction

Look_a_Distraction_Design_by_eecomicsOne of my biggest issues continues to be distraction. They are everywhere all the time. For example, today my husband emailed me to say my sister was worried about me because I had not returned her text messages in the last week. After I read the email, I decided to call her and apologize. Before I managed to make it to the telephone, I determined I needed to take a shower because I had been out wading through tall grass earlier. As I showered I considered the conversation to come. After the shower, I dressed and walked through the kitchen toward the telephone. Before I made it to the phone I noticed that the cut flowers Jack bought me several days ago were wilted and needed to be tossed into the compost bucket. Cramming the wilted gladiolus into the countertop bucket, I noticed I had neglected to turn off the sprinkler in the flower bed in the front yard. Compost bucket in hand I walked out to the faucet and turned the sprinkler off. I tossed the compost into the pile, then grab the sprinkler itself and wound up the hose. Back inside the house I walked past the telephone and sat down at my computer. I have been meaning to write a new post for several days. I thought perhaps my dance with distraction might be an informative, entertaining subject. So, here is my new post. I still have not called my sister. Maybe if I get up right now and keep my eyes focused on the floor I might make it to the telephone and give her a call.

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to distraction

  1. toni balogna says:

    I have to self talk to really focus. I mutter alot!
    before you get up from anywhere make a list..tell your computer.
    overall its called life.
    I just got the new Ann lamotte book.remember how much we like her as an author? the book is called Help, thanks and wow and is a book of prayers.

    another subject..do you want a rabbit from a rabbit rescue?

    hey get marina to email Terri and say its you

  2. katie crumby says:

    Great true story Vic. Your dance and mine sound a lot alike! See you soon-here or there!!!

Leave a Reply

