Kids don’t cause aneurysms.

aneurysm1Prior to certain life altering events two years ago, I had been known to say "You are going to give me an aneurysm," when my kids annoyed me. In all probability I already had one. I used to think that the word aneurysm described an event not a condition.

According to my neurosurgeon, I still have a small aneurysm lurking in my noggin. As long as it continues to simply lurk, I'm okay. The thing about aneurysms is that a person usually has no idea they have one until it pops. Also according to my neurosurgeon, 99% of people who experience a sudden cerebral hemorrhage due to an aneurysm die. So it's kind of of miracle that I'm here at all. My aneurysm did not cause my stroke, the surgery to save my life did. Some people would be angry about this fact. But then, I'm not some people. I am the 1%.

And I intend to make this second life I've been given, worthy of all the effort and support my family and friends have extended on my behalf over the past two years. I'm not certain how exactly I will do this, but I do know if it were not for my family and friends I would be a grumpy old cripple lady. My positive attitude is mostly for them. I, of course, benefit from the positivity as well. But it would be easy to lapse into a depressed funk. Easy, but no freakin' fun.

I am determined to have fun, even when I try driving and can't even get the car out of the garage without becoming terribly confused. That day there was profanity mixed with maniacal laughter as I struggled to back the car into the driveway without hitting the house. Life is truly what you make it. It's just harder after a stroke.

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in stroke, stroke recovery, stroke survivor. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kids don’t cause aneurysms.

  1. You are very inspiring to me.

  2. toni balogna says:

    I get confused alot and I only have drugs in the 70s to thank. you are brave beyond words, my friend.

  3. Mario says:

    Hi! I have a question about your blog and can’t find any contact info on the site. Please email me if you get a chance. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

