I’m really back

baby dreads Two years two months post-stroke, I’m finally really back.

Evidence of my true return: baby dreadlocks and an appliance box of 14 chicks in my living room. While these things may seem small to some, even trivial to others, my hair and my hens were a big part of my pre-stroke life. Up to now my recovery did not include the skills necessary to care for crazy hair or renegade hens.

At about month 24 of recovery, something clicked; a corner was turned, a new level of confidence arose.

I have neglected this blog but continue to write.

I submitted a story to an upcoming publication of Chicken Soup for the Soul which focuses on traumatic brain injury. It was a much more thoughtfully written story compared to my somewhat random blog posts.

After much cajoling by members of my writers group, the Arkansas Writers Guild, I am revising a young adult novel I was busy submitting to editors and literary agents just before my stroke.

While cleaning out old email, I was surprised to find two requests for the full manuscript (which were sent during my hospitalization.) So there are two literary agents out there who want to read my novel! Now I am taxing my brain in an attempt to whip the manuscript into top notch shape.

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in life, stroke, stroke recovery, stroke survivor, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m really back

  1. Julia says:

    I am confused by your post. You say that you are finally back at two years two months post stroke. That is 26 months. Yet later in the post you say that something clicked at month 48 of recovery. I’m confused by these seeming conflicting comments. Is there something I’m missing here? Glad you’re back regardless of the actual timeline.

  2. tiniree says:

    While I enjoyed the post, I wondered this also.

Leave a Reply

