Yawn…

chronic fatigue In the grocery store the other day, I ran into an acquaintance I hadn’t seen since the stroke. She asked the usual question,”How are you doing? I gave her my usual smartass answer, “Well, one side of me is doing great.” She responded with “I guess that means everything takes only half the effort.

“Hmm…” I stood there in front of the artichokes with my mouth open a little bit.

“I wish.”

“Umm, actually everything takes twice the effort.” It was her turn to stand there with her mouth open a little bit and her brow twisted, clearly perplexed by my statement.

“It’s kind of like this, I explained. “The side that works must compensate for the side that’s lazy.”

I’ve written before about how difficult really really simple things can be with only one working hand.

I’m convinced the same tedious compensation also goes on inside my brain. The math part of my brain never worked very well before and since that area is the location most affected by the stroke.

And this must be why I continue to be plagued by chronic fatigue.

Now I gotta go take a nap.

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in stroke, stroke recovery, stroke survivor. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yawn…

  1. I’d say everything is 4 times as hard, the affected side might be working at 50% efficiency but takes 100% effort and the ‘good’ side works at 300% to compensate for it all.

Leave a Reply

