Goals- Schmoles

lida holds a nailEvery year my occupational therapist asks, “what are your goals for this year?”

Last year we anticipated building a chicken coop. So my goal was to be able to hold a nail. I have always been the ‘handy man’ at our house. If a chicken coop was to be built, I would be one to build it. Otherwise, we’d have to hire someone.

Unfortunately, Lida did not cooperate. We hired the contractor who built our house to construct a chicken coop to match. When the invoice arrived, I instructed the month-old hens; they better lay golden eggs.

This year we plan to add a small barn to our little compound. Therefore, my goal for 2014 is: to hold a nail! I’m going to be more specific this year, Lida must hold a nail that I have strength enough to hammer into a 2 x 4. Unlike the nail in the photo included with this post.

Making the photograph was fun and I smiled fondly at my numb hand lying on the ubiquitous nonskid pad one finds on every horizontal surface of my home.

Sometimes I don’t take goals, etc. very seriously. Because, if I took everything seriously, I would be depressed 90% of the time.

I choose to be lighthearted and laugh at my foibles. I really believe laughter is the best medicine. Please laugh with me!

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in stroke, stroke recovery, stroke survivor. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goals- Schmoles

  1. I think finding the person willing to hold the nail while you swing a hammer is a very worthy goal. My friends and relatives are not that brave! It sounds like you have a lovely location for your home. I hope you get your little barn soon without the need for golden eggs.

  2. Marta Szwaya says:

    I think Linda’s suggestion is a great example of there’s more than one way to skin a cat. When I make a stir fry, I get my husband to hold the wok handle, otherwise there would be stir fry all over the kitchenAnd while I hate asking for help, I hate cleaning th kitchen more.M

Leave a Reply

