snow trumps stroke

cat wants inOnce upon a time, when I was sort-of a normal mom, a day spent home alone was a gift.

Since the stroke, however, home alone has lost much of its glamour. The first six months, I was never alone. But almost always home. Now, I reminisce of days spent rushing around in my car visiting people, shopping, having lunch, going to work. Don’t get me wrong, I love my home. We built this house the year before the stroke as our forever home, our sanctuary, our favorite place.

This winter has been the coldest, snowiest, yuckiest winter I can remember since I lived in the Black Hills of South Dakota. Here in the Arkansas Ozarks, we are not prepared for weeks of snow cover, or endless days of below freezing temperatures.

Our driveway is a curving half-mile of gravel, descending into and out of a hollow. Right now, the mailman won’t even drive down it. So, it is highly likely that I would be home alone regardless of my driving ability.

Luckily I’ve never been a person who gets lonely easily. But I’m beginning to understand what that emotion feels like. I can’t say I am bored. I keep busy puttering around the house. I read a lot. I am on constant cat duty. We have three official cats and someone recently dropped off another. We don’t have a litter box, so someone always needs out or wants in. Sometimes I feel like the doorman at a popular fancy cat hotel.

Yes, this is a rambling blog post. I guess I just need someone to talk to. You, dear, reader are that someone. Sorry 🙂

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in cats, life, stroke, stroke recovery, stroke survivor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to snow trumps stroke

  1. Julia says:

    You can talk to me. I always loved being home. Six months before my stroke we moved into my dream home, a loft in a converted factory building that took me two years to renovate and perfect. It even has a laundry room in the apartment which is like winning the lottery in NYC. It’s in the same building as my work studio so I was looking forward to having all those extra hours in which to create instead of commute. But now it has become my prison. I can’t leave by myself and with NYC turned into a skating rink by the recent storms, I can’t leave at all. I can’t do any of my favorite home activities and I can’t work. I spend a lot of time online and I talk endlessly to the cats.

  2. Are you close to the Buffalo River? I’ve canoed it multiple time.

  3. The east coast in on its way to being the snowiest ever recorded. My next post is about how strokes and snow storms don’t mix.

Leave a Reply

