Moving on.

ImageOne of my dad’s favorite sayings was, “Ain’t nothing easy.” He was so right. For instance today as I sat down to begin writing this blog post, my microphone wouldn’t turn on. My Internet Explorer kept crashing. The headset got tangled in my dreadlocks. Telephone rang. Telephone rang again.

I did what I thought was a good thing a week or two ago and replaced my dinosaur of a laptop with a sleek fancy new one. Before I could use the new laptop I had to learn Windows 8. I thought of my father. I actually just kept using the old laptop, procrastinating and hoping it wouldn’t crash completely and lose all my writing.

The difficulties of learning new programs and relearning the things I have forgotten in the past three years is challenging. This post was actually supposed to be a positive response to the chastisement by a moderator of a Facebook group of young stroke survivors. He pointed out that there were too many posts complaining about hardships. He didn’t actually complain. He encouraged the group to write about more positive aspects of stroke recovery. Of course, the positive aspects of stroke recovery are a little more difficult to verbalize than the hardships. It’s always easier to complain than to praise for some reason. It is seems embedded in human nature

Perhaps I can end this post with some of the neat things that have come out of my stroke adventure. I am infinitely more patient. I celebrate tiny achievements. I don’t always have to wear my AFO anymore! I met all my latest goals regarding shoulder and arm movement during the past four months of occupational therapy. Do the happy dance!

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in life, stroke survivor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moving on.

  1. Marta Szwaya says:

    Vic, I too work at acknowledging the beneficial things that have come from my stroke. Everyday I long for a productive left hand and arm, I mourn its loss. But I do celebrate the things I can do. I am happy about my walking that continues to improve ever so slowly. I applaud my growing confidence and independence. I am excited about my bright future, I look forward to experiencing more recovery and I want to be aware of every nuance of it. Despite the fact I have to do things more slowly and deliberately, it does allow me to be more in the moment. When I was whole, I raced through everything and missed a lot.As someone to whom everything came too easily. The occasional strugglemakes me much more focused and present Even if everything came back, I would want to retain some of the stroke’s lessons, hard though they have been.Marta

Leave a Reply

