every morning’s a good morning.

mpmorningIn my last blog post I made a pretty strong statement, in a poorly written essay. I blame the bad writing on the voice-to-text software I use. Unfortunately, my mouth usually runs faster than my brain.

There is nothing wrong with my mouth.

The theme of the post was supposed to be moving on. After posting it I gave the matter some devoted thought. In actuality, every single morning when I am forced to paw through the bedcovers to find my left arm, I am taken back to the terrifying time right after my stroke.

I wonder if ever a day will go by without pondering those crazy days. Or asking the eternal “why?”

The only answer I can come up with is the one my beleaguered mom used quite frequently: “Because.” When I was younger, I thought she was avoiding the answer to whatever millionth question I asked. Now I know, sometimes the only answer to a question is:
“Because”.

In the words of my husband, Jack, a.k.a. Mr. No-Bad-Talking: “Dookie happens”.

Every day brings its challenges. Every day brings surprises. Every day brings recovery. Every day I wake up is a third chance at life.

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in life, stroke, stroke recovery, stroke survivor. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to every morning’s a good morning.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Vic, so very true. I daily start with an attitude of gratitude, as soon as I disentangle my left arm from the bedclothes, I go to work, I go home , I long for the weather to improve, so I can garden, I keep recovering, one day at a time. I get to do all the things I love. I can read, stay focused. in essence I live, life one day at a time. we are like a pair of Ennergizer bunnies. good for us! Best, Marta

  2. When I woke up and everyone told me what happened, I said “why?” about a thousand times. My mom says I was perseverating due to the aphasia. I still think “why?” all the time, but not out loud,

    • I have a friend who just survived a brain bleed. She is pretty hung up on “Why”.We are the ones who eat right , exercise, etc. I dont wonder any more…I had a weak spot in a vessel in my brain… it could have been there since birth. Who knows.We survived and thats what matters now.Thanks for reading, Grace:)

  3. Anonymous says:

    Vic, I too saw a scan of my brain, nut very soon after my stroke happened. My neurologist showed me several scans in follow up visits. I saw a brain with some blank spots that represented the injury; it made me feel a little sick to be honest. He also told me that I would recover everything, but it would take about 18 months. I am 4 years post stroke so his timing was off by half, he did say that my cortex was intact which is the area that enables intrabrain communication, so he said that was very good. Early on, I was encouraged by his assessment but also a bit frightened; I didn’t know if that meant my left arm would just start working all of a sudden…funny really, but since it never happened, I’ve calmed down, and operate one handed which I am getting pretty skilled at. My left arm/ hand spasticity is gone which is also a blessing, All in all, I just keep moving forward, i don’t look back, have no real regrets. I enjoy your blog quite a lot, so am a faithful reader. Marta

Leave a Reply

