This is not a picture of Vic’s Brain

68erlvAt my last Botox appointment, I asked my neurologist to show me a picture of my brain. To my knowledge I had never seen one before.

I mentioned my desire to see the image to my occupational therapist. She warned me to prepare myself emotionally. Although she had never seen it, she had read the reports and knew my stroke damage was significant.

Not much scares me anymore. I really had no idea what to expect when Dr. Moon turned out the light. The dual computer screens flashed up four black and white images of my head. Disappointing. I guess I expected color. Oddly, the first thing I noticed was the delicate appearance of my ears.

He began our tour by pointing out the dark voids where the two halves of the nut that is my brain connect. I forget what he called them. They look like a butterfly from the top. I noticed my butterfly, has a really big right wing. Next he drew my attention to a cloudy area next to the butterfly’s big right wing. The cloud was my stroke. It filled an area the size of my palm from the top of my ear to the upper back of my brain. During the stroke, lack of blood contracted the tissue and made the right wing of my butterfly larger. There are also little spaces between that area of my brain and my skull that are not present on the left side. The whole thing of reminds me of a sponge that’s dried out in one area. Weird.

Obviously, given the title,the image I have included with this post is not my brain. I neglected to ask Dr. Moon to email it to me. I regret that. Maybe I’ll ask him next time.

Since viewing the Scan, I’ve remarked when asked how I’m doing: “pretty good for someone with 75% of brain.” My husband, Jack interrupted me the other day. He said, “No! You have 80%.”

I stand corrected. I’ll agree to 80%. But I think he’s given me bonus points because he loves me so much. 🙂

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This is not a picture of Vic’s Brain

  1. oc1dean says:

    Your butterflys are the ventricles of the brain

Leave a Reply

