Uncontrollable Laughter a.k.a. Pseudobulbar affect (PBA)

laughterLast night, I sat around a table of old friends and new aquaintances eating a casual meal and tasting some wines. For some reason the topic of nicknames came up. The name Squirrel-tooth Alice popped into my head. Squirrel-tooth Alice was the Madam of a bordello in post Civil War Montana. I shared this descriptive nickname with my dinner-mates. The name had barely crossed my lips when the laughter started. Once giggling commenced, tears of laughter followed. And followed and followed and followed.

This uncontrollable laughter struck me once before. It’s been a long time, but that time I also wet my pants. I know, too much information! But, my speech therapist witnessed the episode and explained PBA to me. Believe it or not, this is a medically recognized syndrome. It is also manifested in uncontrollable crying. I’m lucky my symptom is laughter

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in stroke, stroke recovery, stroke survivor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Uncontrollable Laughter a.k.a. Pseudobulbar affect (PBA)

  1. Anonymous says:

    Vic, I had PBA also, After the stroke whenever anyone was kind to me, I would cry and cry. It was awful. I had my kids come into my room, and I explained that I wasn’t sad or upset, that it was as a result of stroke injury. I’ve always been tenderhearted and sentimental, but this was different. It has resolved itself completely. I am back to myself. I do laugh. When my husband makes me laugh, I forget how to walk. It’s a standing joke at our house. Marta

  2. That is one side-effect I hear little about. Thanks for bringing this topic to light.

Leave a Reply

