Acupuncture? Sure, why not….

acupuncturecupping

For all my new readers, I guess I need to explain Lida. L.I.D.A. is an acronym for little dead arm. My nurses told me I couldn’t call it my dead arm because it wasn’t dead. Apparently nurses don’t like the word dead. Immediately after my stroke I named everything. Even my aneurysm had a name: Winston.

Anyway back to the subject at hand, I had acupuncture the other day. And a process called cupping. Cupping involves glass cups which have been rendered airless by a hot flame. This creates a vacuum. The cups are placed on strategic spots on a patient’s back.

The suction created by the vacuum within the cups supposedly removes toxins, increases circulation and opened up the body’s meridians. The only thing I know the cups did for me was create a number of perfectly round hickeys all over my back.

My sister photographed the process, I looked like an alien life form with six or eight boobs sprouting from my back.

She also photographed the acupuncture needles bristling from Lida and my left foot. I am thankful I was face down on a massage table for most of this process and could not see what was going on.

After almost 3 years of therapy Lida’s hand shows little improvement. She fluctuates between complete numbness and the sensation of being on fire. She closes but will not open. I have determined it would be extremely handy if she functioned again. Ha!

I am open to just about any treatment. I might draw the line at voodoo chicken sacrifice but I am game for just about anything else. If 15 or 20 needle pricks don’t do the trick, maybe a tattoo is in order. Might just get Lida all dressed up and watch her come to life! 🙂

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in life, stroke, stroke recovery, stroke survivor. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Acupuncture? Sure, why not….

  1. oc1dean says:

    Your therapists should be having you do action observation, thermal stimulation and mirror box therapy. Even though I’m sure none of these are standard of care or in any textbooks.

  2. barbpolan says:

    I have tried absolutely every oddball therapy. For acupuncture, she put needles in the ear on my affected side, plus 1 in my ankle. No result.

Leave a Reply

