Celebrate good times, come on!

DCIM100GOPROMy God-daughter got married last weekend. Her wedding was augmented with a family reunion of her mom’s eight siblings, spouses, kids, and grandkids. There were about 50 people I’ve never met before.

It was an epic celebration; a super-deluxe challenge for someone with limited stamina and short term memory issues.

But, by the actual wedding on the third day of festivities, I was the one my family came to when they couldn’t remember a name!

Plus, I danced for the first time post stroke! Mingling on a crowded dance floor with people other than my immediate family.

I did a little solo practice, to make certain I could prevent Lida from accidentally crotch-knocking someone. She is notorious for that.

The wedding was exciting. I made oodles and oodles of new friends. Plus, I danced!

Good times my friends, good times.

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in family, life, stroke, stroke recovery, stroke survivor. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Celebrate good times, come on!

  1. Marta Szwaya says:

    So glad you had an enjoyable celebration. I’ve made it a point to make sure I remember how to be a human being since the stroke. I don’t think I’m ready for dancing yet…but I was never a great dancer ever. So my expectations are low. I’ve now been braceless continuously since June 22nd!
    Florida vacation next week, and swimming also braceless…and so we keep making progress, one tiny step at a time. Hooray for us. Best, Marta

  2. Anonymous says:

    So happy you danced…..you were always such a good dancer!!! I met your daughter the other day….I was signing her petition! She is a beautiful young lady (like her Mom)!

  3. Anonymous says:

    OK….Anonymous on August 4 was Kathy Conley Ingersoll…didn’t know it would show up as Anonymous! lol

Leave a Reply

