Can I do it? Yes I can. (with a little help)

potteryAgreeing to participate in an activity a one-handed person probably cannot do alone, might seem silly. But I’ve always been a creator and I have missed making stuff.

My sister and I threw pots back in the 80s. It was dirty, it was fun. I made clunky lopsided pots on a pottery wheel. Terri sculpted in clay and created some very cool pieces.

No pottery wheel is available in my current class. That’s okay, because two very strong hands are required to throw pots on wheel.

In this class, all our work is made with slabs or shaping by hand. A slab of clay is like pie crust, a flat sheet of malleable material.

We manipulate slabs into various shapes, sticking them together with a slurry of clay and water called slip.

So far, I have completed some clay lanterns and a couple of trays. All interesting in their own imperfect way.

My main accomplishment in pottery class has been learning to accept help when it is offered by my teacher and classmates. I have even been known to ask for help!

It’s a big deal.

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in stroke recovery, stroke survivor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can I do it? Yes I can. (with a little help)

  1. Marta Szwaya says:

    Vic good for you! I so much appreciate your posts because they remind me that I’m not alone on this journey. somewhere out there, there is a parallel universe where another person is struggling , achieving and reinventing themselves and how they do things. Thank you for your sharing, it helps a great deal. I have chucked my brace and have been braceless now for a month…of course I am way slower walking but being braceless has allowed me to say that I have now completed Phase 1 of my recovery ; of course it only took 4 years to dump the brace, not exactly lightening speed, Interesting to see what I can accomplish in the next 4. stay tuned. Marta

  2. I learned how to make post on the wheel in college. I understand how satisfying it is to shape clay with your hands. I’m glad you found a way to resume this valued activity. Humans shaped clay for thousands of years without a wheel so your building by hand is part of a great tradition.

Leave a Reply

