Remembering to Rejoice

Forest_road_by_F3rd4

A few days ago, I caught myself whining internally about walking to the mailbox.

For most people, that simply involves walking down a short, level, paved, surface.

The driveway to the Fountain house is little more than a parallel set of gravel tire trails through a rough Ozark landscape. From front door to mailbox is approximately half a mile.

Mentally slapping myself from the negative, lazy attitude, I remembered how thankful I am to be walking at all.

The fact that I can trudge up and down sometimes challenging driveway is a blessing I should celebrate, not dread.

It is so easy to slip into a funk; to forget.

I will remain vigilant in my gratitude, even if it involves occasionally traveling back in memory to the time I lay partially paralyzed and helpless in a hospital bed.

It’s no fun to remember.

It is crucial not to forget.

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Remembering to Rejoice

  1. barbpolan says:

    “It’s no fun to remember. It is crucial not to forget.” Perfect!

  2. Marta Szwaya says:

    So true Vic. As i continue to heal, I am occasionally frustrated that it is not going faster, that i’m not yet where I want to be. I am trying to enjoy the journey, it is a unique experience and I should be able to savor it as an interesting chapter of my life…always working on it. Marta

  3. It has been 11 years since I had a stroke so I know what you mean about needing to remember about how far I have come.

  4. Marta Szwaya says:

    Rebecca, your blog is one I most enjoy and have been helped by. When you reach a certain age, you stop wishing things were different and just get on with living. That’s where I’m at. i’m almost 5 years post stroke. And it’s taken every minute of that time to get my head screwed on straight. Doing so has improved my life tremendously, so I’m grateful for where I’m at. Marta

    • barb0803 says:

      Hi Marta, I too am about to reach my 5-year anniversary – Nov. 12. What a trip it’s been – an existential crisis that resulted in a purposeful restructuring of my life. I too enjoy the depth of the entries in this blog.

    • Anonymous says:

      Marta: Rock on:) vic

Leave a Reply

