The beauty of Botulism

botox happyI’m fairly certain the pharmaceutical company that markets Botox to soccer moms with crows feet, has tried to keep the fact that it is derived from botulism on the down-low.

No one would voluntarily have Salmonella injected into their face. Would they?

Botulism toxin kills through paralysis.

Apparently, some years ago, a wonderfully mad scientist familiar with post stroke spasticity, decided that botulism injected directly into the overly tight muscles might reduce pain and contortion of always contracted limbs. Temporary paralysis of these muscles does, indeed, have benefits.

Unfortunately Botox’s most significant medical use is relatively unknown.

Whenever I mention my Botox treatments, 90% of people begin scanning my

canyon-like laugh lines.

For the past couple of years I’ve received 8 to 10 injections in Lida every three weeks or so.

The result is not dramatic but I can definitely tell when the Botox wears off. Then, it takes superhuman effort to intertwine the fingers of my hands.

For me, it’s not a miracle. I hope it is for others.

But as long as it helps a little bit, I’ll continue to have Lida poisoned into partial submission.

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in life, stroke, stroke recovery, stroke survivor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The beauty of Botulism

  1. Marta Szwaya says:

    Vic, I too had botox in my left hand, now that more time has passed – 5 years total almost for me, as I pass through the Brunnstrom stages, my spasticity has receded and my hand is relaxed as a matter of course. Still can’t use itfor anything useful, but I am a believer in the Brunnstrom approach as’ve seen its wisdom in my own healing. Marta

  2. I know this site offers quality based articles or reviews
    and other stuff, is there any other web page which gives these
    kinds of information in quality?

Leave a Reply

