Learning the hard way: Use it or Lose it.

thE4CI0KE7I know, you’ve heard it before: “Use it or lose it.”

I joined the Lumosity program of online brain training in 2012, a year and a half after brain surgery. Like many things, my early commitment was gung-ho. Then, springtime blossomed with green sprouts and sunshine. Springtime always distracts me. I kinda forgot about Lumosity. Who wants to peck around on a computer when the birds sing nonstop and the breeze smells like freshly turned earth? Unfortunately Lumosity stayed forgotten through summer, harvest and a good part of the entire next year. Whoops.

Let’s just say my scores plummeted. Nose-dived. It took Mutha Nature’s most recent bout of nasty attitude to remind me that my brain had turned as mushy as my snowmelt-muddy driveway.

Lumosity allows me to compare my abilities to other players my age. It does not take my brain damage into account. In 2013, I was performing in the 50th percentile in some categories, such as mental flexibility and language skills. I made it to the 30th percentile in computation and other number related tests. Now, I’m way down at 12%. Failing.

I’m back at the games with new ambition. I’d forgotten how cool the graphics are in many of the games, and how fun and encouraging the software is. This year I’m determined to stay on track even after the first green haze tints the hills.

I recommend Lumosity to everyone. It is inexpensive and extremely beneficial. You just have to remember to play.

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learning the hard way: Use it or Lose it.

  1. Maerta Szwaya says:

    Vic, not sure that scores in Lumosity mean very much; if you play the games consistently, you get better at them, just as you do with anything you practice. What application do they have to your real life? Since the stroke, I went back to work full time. Prior to my stroke, I was a VP in a major corporation managing a 100 million dollar division; i travelled every day . I returned to work 4 months post stroke, but not to my former position because i was unable to travel at the same level independently, so instead I launched a Facebook page fr the company and created content for it daily, which was challenging and enjoyable as well.Later that year, I returned to the manufacturing business my husband and i own. It had been badly buffeted by the recession, and our office manager left to have a baby, so I had to learn another new business granularly. It was brutal at first, but the more i did it the better it got. My work experience has helped my brain to heal. I got over the exhaustion and now i am at my desk 45-50 hours a week. Our business has healed while i have healed. I’ve taken responsibility for all of the financial planning, and although I’m not a nuts and bolts type. I enjoy the language of numbers and I am at my former level as far as working with numbers goes. Onward and upward1 You go girl! Best, Marta

  2. toni taco, doggie diva says:

    Do not despair..you grew your hair..your brain is lovely..sweet and fair…its not the scores..its the good spring air..

Leave a Reply

