Vic Interrupted

things to do before i dieLately, seems like every time I am blessed with a complete thought, I discover something wacky about my new normal.

I’ve never considered it a possibility, but I am quite talented at interrupting myself.

Who does that?

It’s not a verbal thing. At least I haven’t noticed that aspect of the wildly out of control circumstance

When I was actively in speech therapy, my beloved, exasperatingly on-point therapist, Jamie, spoke to me about post-stroke impulsivity, a label when applied to my own behavior kinda ticked me off.

It implied lack of control.

Now I realize I was absolutely not in control.

Apparently I’m still not completely in control, because sometimes my mornings go like this:

I decide to do a load of laundry.

  1. I walk into the laundry room to fill the washer.
  2. Notice the cats need food.
  3. Add food to dish.
  4. Notice cats need fresh water.
  5. Rinse water bowl and fill with water.
  6. Notice the empty washer is filling with water.
  7. Add detergent.
  8. Go to closet and drag hamper to laundry room.
  9. The sound of running water sends me to the bathroom.
  10. Notice I didn’t plug in electric toothbrush.
  11. Plug in toothbrush.
  12. Hear washer begin to agitate.
  13. Remember I never put dirty clothes in washer.
  14. Push clothes into water in washing machine.
  15. Begin to empty dishwasher.
  16. Hear a text message ping.
  17. Check phone.
  18. Neglect to completely empty dishwasher.

This scenario repeats itself until I’m not sure what my original goal was, and I am interrupting the interruption to complete my first task….

Geeze.

This crazy cycle prevents me from accomplishing much in a day. And when I do finally finish a task. I’m left wondering what I’ve forgotten. Not much satisfaction.

Maybe a written list would help.

Sometimes I think I need a list of one single to do:

  1. Get dressed.

Which is sort of ridiculous. But, I’ve had to embrace the ridiculous.

 Embrace and transcend.

 That’s today’s goal.

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in stroke recovery, stroke survivor. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vic Interrupted

  1. barb0803 says:

    Age does that.

Leave a Reply

