Candy for LIDA

reachLike most things, progress is relative. The abilities I celebrate today could be another person’s nightmare.

My occupational therapist of 3+ years finally returned to outpatient practice after maternity leave. Armed with a new facility, new gadgets and a fresh approach, she is once again my teammate in post stroke transformation and restoration.

She has guided LIDA, from completely limp noodledom to an arm that straightens, bends and reaches. Sensation seems to be on the increase, stimulation more painful but that’s a good thing.

Nerves reawakening.

Daily home stretching and exercise builds on the improvements we experience in therapy sessions.

LIDA will work again.

I have no doubt.

My faith in her ability grows daily.

Last night I managed to crab walk down an aisle in a completely packed auditorium and not bonk anyone on the head with my rigid little arm.

Yay for tiny blessings.

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in life, stroke, stroke survivor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

