50 shades of therapy

saeboflexOkay.

I admit it, I read 20 or 30 pages of the book.

Now more than ever, I don’t like books with stupid protagonists.

Unfortunately, I did read all the Twilight books. Even Bella’s stupidity is surpassed by whatever the girl was called in 50 shades of gray.

Whoops!

Um, this post is supposed to be about therapy devices.

I can’t determine whether Lida and I have been in a pretty perpetual state of Christmas morning all spring, or if we’ve become collectors of newly minted torture instruments.

First came the Saebo Flex, an Edward scissor hands-like gizmo with pulleys, springs and, the ubiquitous Velcro.

The second new contraption is not at my house but at therapy clinic. It is called the A.M.E.S. device, an FDA approved monster of a machine resembling a Zamboni, with a place to lock in an arm or leg or whatever body part needs: Assisted Movement with Enhanced Stimulation.

This experimental prototype machine secures Lida in a metal clamp and flexes my wrist and opens and closes my fingers in a therapeutic imitation of a quacking duck. At the same time vibrating probes stimulate the muscles involved in performing the various moves.

It’s a noisy buzzing machine with a zillion metal moving parts and tons of Velcro.

Jack is convinced the AMES plus the Saebo Flex are the keys to Lida’s busy future.

I’m not quite as enthusiastic, probably because these therapy thingamajigs kinda hurt. But as I said before pain is improvement.

Nerves doing their jobs.

Something is helping because now sometimes when I yawn Lida’s fingers straighten and splay rather than contracting into a fist.

It’s a step in the right direction.

A baby step.

But a split second spark of contact is still progress.

 

 

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in stroke, stroke recovery, stroke survivor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 50 shades of therapy

  1. toni taco says:

    You have always had a lot of nerve..hopefully they will all get in line and get Lida to get her act together.

Leave a Reply

