The Creep

thMKNN751G (2)Warning signs proliferated. I chose not to look too closely.

For the first two years of my post-stroke life, I focused on getting rid of the cane and becoming independently mobile, doing things like carrying a cup of coffee from the kitchen to my chair by the living room window. I could not do that using a cane. Who knew? Working to simply function around the one-handed dealio. I ignored the effects of this new sedentary life on my body.

Year three: anomalies popped up here and there, rounded curves, blown out elastic and overstretched seams. Jiggles commenced. Alarm bells should have been clanging. But I thought, “Five pounds in three years isn’t too bad”. Everyone agreed.

Armed with a hiking stick, I committed to a walking regimen. The exercise and fresh air invigorated me. My weight plateaued. Until…

Year four: Jack retired in February and dinner became a festivity. No more ‘popcorn and a beer’ meals, no more peanut butter and jelly. We cooked healthy meals every evening. Wintertime was upon us. The weather made walking not so much fun. We resorted to mall-walking. Depressing. Unfortunately these unenthusiastic walks did not compensate for the eating.

One year later, I find myself 10 pounds heavier than my hospital release weight. Totally unacceptable.

Needless to say I have a new goal. It’s always something. 🙂

One baby step at a time.

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in life, stroke, stroke recovery, stroke survivor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Creep

  1. oc1dean says:

    I gained 40 lbs. in three years upon moving to a new state with no contacts. Working on 10,000 steps a day to dissolve that but left leg spasticity causes hell/toe strike not to be straight and results in pain in various parts of the left foot. No solution.

Leave a Reply

