The Deadzone

empty head4 1/2 years post stroke, some friends and I were discussing floorplans, we had just toured a home where the front door opened directly into the living room.

In the car, Julie said, “I think a house needs a foyer or entryway of some sort.” I thought about what she’d said and agreed, then experienced the strangest most unsettling moment of complete blankness.

I scratched my embarrassingly empty head, “Does my house have one?”

My buddies giggled.

I asked “How do you get there from my kitchen?”  Giggles became nervous titters.

The fleeting image of a large piece of furniture slid through my mind.

I remained blank, blank blank, while Jayne patiently described walking from my kitchen though the dining area to reach my entryway.

I  groaned. It took what seemed a very long time to conjure an image of my entryway in my mind. My friends sat uncomfortably silent in the car as I searched the empty hole in my head.

It wasn’t until I walked into my front door that I actually remembered the entryway in my house.

” Oh yeah.”

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in stroke, stroke recovery, stroke survivor. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Deadzone

  1. MartaSzwaya says:

    Vic, are you sure that’s stroke and not just age? As a person soon to be 62, it sounds more like age to me. Marta

Leave a Reply

