Obsession or Focus?

thrive

As the fifth anniversary of my brain aneurysm and subsequent stroke approaches, I wonder:
Do I dwell on this admittedly dramatic event and its impact on my life too much?
Or is this constant attention the reason my recovery flourishes? Considering each waking moment an opportunity for therapy and improvement, certainly keeps *Lida and *Lefty at the forefront of my consciousness.
I don’t believe I’m obsessed with my affected limbs. But I’m always aware. They feel weird and don’t work right.
I try to take special care of them with lots of stretching and mental focus. They rarely respond overtly to my ministrations, but this perpetual scrutiny has definitely resulted in subtle improvement.
The connections to my brain have been under construction for five years, but the roadblocks now have detours that eventually get messages to my fingers and toes.
 So I am a little preoccupied with my post stroke symptoms, but the key word here is “occupied”.
I’m busy.
 Ever since I tumbled into the Valley of the Shadow of Death, my goal has been to grow in the sun and thrive.
And for Lida to give Death the finger.
*Lida=Little dead arm.* Lefty= my goofy foot.
About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in stroke recovery, stroke survivor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

