S.N.A.F.U.

snafuWe all do it, the off-hand, “How ya doing?” We say it to loved-ones and complete strangers.

No one ever really answers question. The reply is most often the completely meaningless phrase, “I’m fine”.

When I’m asked,the answer I think silently is, “Snafu.”

Well it’s true. Situation normal all fucked-up. My normal is just a little bit different.

I usually tell people they expect to hear, “I’m okay.”

And I am.

Just imagine the indeterminate rambling reports I could issue in reply.

Because I’m polite, I will keep responding with. “I’m okay.”

But in my exhausted mind I’ll think:

Snafu.

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in stroke recovery, stroke survivor, words and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to S.N.A.F.U.

  1. barb0803 says:

    I volunteer at a homeless shelter, and there’s a guest who rants if anyone asks how he is. “Why would you ask me I thing like that? How do you THINK I am? And I’m not gonna ask you how you are – how hard can your life be if you spend hours here? I’ll bet you’ve got a home to go to, food to eat, drinks if you want them…. And I bet your dog’s not dying… Or your grandmother. Because if your dog or your grandmother were dying or you were sick, you wouldn’t be here…”

    So I don’t ask. No one asks him. 65 years old and he can’t be polite or accept a social nicety.

  2. Anonymous says:

    So true Vic, not everyone can remember to be a human being when interacting with others. I run our business and some days when my body is just refusing to cooperate with my intentions, I get crabby tooand want to say when the phone rings and I’m busy but only have one working hand I too am tempted to say when I pick up the phone ” What do you want, now?’ bt of course i never do…I use my human being voice. M

Leave a Reply

