Vic’s Addiction

th1mak6nqj

I experienced some extremely comforting drugs in Neuro-ICU after surgery.

Dilaudid is a derivative of morphine. I distinctly recall asking for more of that. “Can you give me some more of that “D” stuff?” I couldn’t remember the name, but the sensation of sinking into a cloud of cotton  wowed and numbed me, which after days, or hours, or minutes, or even seconds, of struggling in my hallucinatory battles is right where I wanted to be.

Numb.

Which is why I am addicted to Chapstick. The left side of my mouth and nose are always the tingly numb of post-dental-surgery. So my lips feel chapped when they are perfectly moisturized.

One hundred percent of the time.

There is a tube of Chapstick at every spot in the house I am apt to linger for over a minute.

I would patrol the house and count them, but I’d be embarrassed to provide you the actual number.

Oh. Only nine. Plus one in each vehicle and two in my purse.

I don’t have a secret hidden stash, but it might not be a bad idea.

Addicted?

 

About Vic Cobb Fountain

Empowered Stroke survivor: appreciating where I've been, anticipating where I'm going.
This entry was posted in stroke, stroke recovery, stroke survivor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vic’s Addiction

  1. william partridge says:

    hello my name is Bill i suffered a brain stem stroke two years ago that has left me with a lot of the same things
    I could totley relate to Drunk-ish i’m just waiting for the local authorities to go sir step over here sir and then when i fall backwards when they have me close my eyes ill tell them ive been sober for 20 years and have the chip to prove it
    i have just started looking on line for peps with same things going on glad i found your blog

  2. My stroke created the sensation that I have a rubber band around the base of my big toe 24/7. Bizarre but not as annoying as lips that always feel chapped. Chapstick sounds like a good addiction to me.

  3. I’m sorry about the weird sensation, but I loved your post!
    I stopped using Chapstick a while ago, because I could swear it was 1)addictive 2)not helping. When my son was born, I got a tube of lanolin for chapped nipples 😉 Other than the fact that I’m slightly embarrassed about using something for nursing mothers, I can’t say enough about how much I prefer it to Chapstick.

Leave a Reply

